Created in 1795 as a not for profit body for the promotion of art, science and literature, Institut de France is composed of five Academies: the Académie Française, the Académie des Inscriptions & Belles-Lettres, the Académie des Sciences, the Académie des Beaux-Arts and the Académie des Sciences Morales & Politiques.

In parallel, it is one of the oldest and most prestigious institutions to practise patronage and manage gifts and bequeaths. For over two centuries it has hosted foundations and awarded prizes that have played an incomparable role in modern patronage. Created by private individuals or companies, the Institute’s foundations and awards benefit from the experience of the centuries-old institution in the field of philanthropy, as well as of the expertise of the members of the academies in their respective fields.
The Institute is also the owner of considerable artistic heritage composed of exceptional houses and collections bequeathed to it since the end of the 19th century. Amongst its notable items are the Château de Chantilly, the Jacquemart-André Museum, Chaalis Abbey, the Château de Langeais and the Villa Kérylos.
The Tocqueville Foundation is hosted by the Institut de France, where a dedicated team led by Leticia Petrie supports the Foundation in its endeavours.